Office of Global Engagement
International Students and Scholars

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables nationals of 40 participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business (visitor [B] visa purposes only) for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa. VWP eligible travelers may apply for a visa, if they prefer to do so. If the visitor will receive pay from and stay at Brown University for longer than nine days, please consult with OISSS to ensure that traveling under the VWP is appropriate.

VWP visitors are required to have a valid authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to travel, are screened at the port of entry into the United States, and are enrolled in the Department of Homeland Security’s OBIM program, [formerly US-VISIT].

Currently 40 countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program.